Autumn Conference 2018 Get involved  PhD Dissertation Award

Autumn Conference 2018

NGG Autumn Conference 2018 Interpreting Rituals: Historiographical Perspectives and Pluralistic Contexts

>> Read more

Get involved

The benefits of being a member and how to become one.

>> Read more

PhD Dissertation Award

The Gerardus van der Leeuw PhD Dissertation Award

>> Read more
news top


Nederlands Genootschap voor Godsdienstwetenschap


The NGG is the official professional organization representing the academic study of religion in the Netherlands, with more than 60 active members. It is our mission to foster an interdisciplinary study of religion on a high level of academic reflection and historical understanding. We disseminate the results of our research to a wider public and engage actively in political and cultural debates in the Netherlands and beyond. We provide a network of scholars that enhances the quality of academic research and that supports the next generation of scholars. To achieve these goals, the NGG organizes annual conferences, serves as a communication platform for scholars, journalists, politicians, and other societal stakeholders, and engages actively in the support of doctoral students.


Founded in 1947 following an initiative by Gerardus van der Leeuw, professor of Phenomenology of Religions at the University of Groningen, the NGG was subsequently instrumental in the foundation of the International Association for the History of Religion (IAHR). In 1950, the Netherlands hosted the international congress in Amsterdam during which the IAHR was institutionally founded, with Gerardus van der Leeuw serving as the first president. The NGG is also a member of the European Association for the Study of Religions (EASR) and hosted the 13th EASR Annual Conference in Groningen in 2014, on the occasion of the 400th anniversary of the University of Groningen.


Executive Committee of the NGG: 

Prof. Dr. Birgit Meyer (Utrecht University), president
Dr. William Arfman, (Tilburg University/University of Leiden), general secretary
Prof. Dr. Frans Wijsen (Radboud University Nijmegen), treasurer

Susanne van Esdonk, MA (University of Amsterdam), student and doctoral student representative

Mattias Brand, MA (University of Leiden), student and doctoral student representative