news top
Oct 12, 2018
The NGG Working Group on Religion Education is pleased to announce a theme meeting “The Study of Religion and Good Teaching Materials”, to be held on 31 October – 1 November 2018 at Leiden University.

Cornelis Tiele MA Thesis Award

Named after one of the founders of the comparative study of religion, the Cornelis Tiele MA Dissertation Award is an annual award granted by the Dutch Association for the Study of Religion (NGG) for an outstanding MA or ResMa thesis within the academic study of religion. The award will be handed out for the first time at the NGG Spring Meeting in 2018. Deadline for nominations have passed.


The Award 

The recipient of the 2018 Cornelis Tiele MA Dissertation Award is granted a prize of €200,- In addition, the winner will be offered a free one year membership of the Dutch Association for the Study of Religion (NGG), including the associated memberships of the European Association for the Study of Religion (EASR) and the International Association for the History of Religions (IAHR). 



The award is granted to an excellent MA or ResMa thesis that showcases original primary research, clear analysis, and solid theoretical foundations. The thesis has to be written at a Dutch University, but can be part of an educational track other than religion studies. The thesis does, however, clearly have to fall within the domain of the academic and non-confessional study of religion. Candidates for the 2018 award must have completed the thesis between September 1, 2016 and August 31, 2017. 



Nominations must be made by e-mail to between September 1, 2017 and November 15, 2017. The nominator must be either the nominee's thesis supervisor or a member of the NGG. 

The applications should consist of PDF-files of the following, in either Dutch or in English: 

  1. A short recommendations explaining why the nominated thesis meets the listed criteria 
  2. The nominee’s thesis
  3. Documentation to show that the thesis has been completed and assessed.  

Deadline: closed

Award Committee 

Mattias Brand (Leiden University - chair)

Kim Knibbe (University of Groningen)

Pooyan Tamimi Arab (Utrecht University)